skip navigation

A night to say congratulations

By Eddie Dwyer, 06/06/12, 12:00AM EDT


Saint Ignatius pays tribute to its spring sports athletes and men-for-all-seasons broadcasters during the final athletics banquet of the 2011-12 school year.

Tim Shenk from the recent graduating Class of 2012 is presented with the Fred DiSanto Commitment to Excellence Award.

By Eddie Dwyer

As Saint Ignatius Athletics Director Rory Fitzpatrick ’88 and retiring Principal Peter H. Corrigan, Jr. ’69 emphasized, Tuesday night was another opportunity to recognize that special balance between academics and athletics.

It is the ability to balance both, and the complementary life lessons they teach, that make the Saint Ignatius student athlete a man for others worthy of celebration.

With their families, friends and coaches looking on with pride, the recent graduating seniors from the Wildcats’ spring sports teams were presented their special “senior pins” and gathered in front of their admiring audience to sing the Jesuit Preparatory School’s Alma Mater.

In what was another of the many special moments that took place in the Murphy Field House, Tim Shenk ’12, who excelled as an All-Ohio kicker for the Wildcats’ record 11th state championship football team this past fall and was a regional qualifier in the 300 hurdles in varsity track and field this spring, was presented with the prestigious Fred DiSanto '80 Commitment to Excellence Award. Tim will be furthering his education and football career at Air Force.

After breaking bread in the Murphy Field House, the spring sports teams proceeded to their assigned rooms for the presentation of awards.

Here is a look at the various honors that were bestowed upon Saint Ignatius’ well-rounded student athletes.


Pitcher of the Year: Senior right-hander Matt Hoyer. Matt, who is bound for Mercyhurst on a football scholarship, helped lead Coach Brad Ganor’s Wildcats to a 20-10 record and a Division I regional semifinal appearance by going 7-1 on the mound with a 1.91 earned run average. With Matt showing the way, pitching coach T.J. Donovan ’94 watched his staff compile a 2.03 ERA and throw nine shutouts.

Defensive Player of the Year: Senior center fielder Tim McCoy. The best at the 8 position that this old-timer has had the privilege to cover, Tim displayed an exceptional and accurate throwing arm and the feet, body control and quick reactions that allowed him to run down several balls in the gaps and take away home runs with leaping catches at the fence. He also hit .361 in the Wildcats’ all-wood bats attack. Tim will be furthering his education and baseball career at the home of the NCAA back-to-back Division III national champion – Marietta College.

Offensive Player of the Year: Junior left-fielder Conor Hennessey. The Wildcats’ catalyst at the leadoff position, Conor batted .352 with six doubles and two triples. He also was a force on the base paths and played a solid 7 spot.

Captains Awards: The honors went to three of the best all-around leaders in the history of Wildcats baseball - senior shortstop Mike Ruffing, Tim McCoy and Matt Hoyer.

Coaches’ Cups: This prestigious distinction for 2012 couldn’t have gone to better young men, senior right fielder Dan Oaklief and senior first baseman/outfielder/designated hitter Stephen Alexander. As Coach Ganor put it so well, Dan and Stephen are players you want to emulate, athletes who exemplify everything you want in a Saint Ignatius player.

*Two of Saint Ignatius’ three captains for next year were selected by the team. They are gifted second baseman Dan Rowbottom ’13 and Conor Hennessey ‘13. Dan hit .313 this spring with nine doubles, three triples and a home run.


Most Valuable Sprinter: Dan Way ‘13

Most Valuable Hurdler: Pat Jeffries ‘13

Most Valuable Field Athlete: Blake Thomas ‘12

Most Valuable Distance Runner: Mitch Baum ‘12

Most Improved Athlete: Brendan Kobunski ‘13

Most Valuable Freshman: Corbett Griffith

Overall, Most Valuable Athlete: Drew Galang ’12, the anchor on the Wildcats’ outstanding 4x800 meter relay team, which finished second at the 105th Ohio state meet.


Most Valuable Players: Brett Hornung and Rustom Khouri

Player of the Year Offensively: Brett Hornung

Player of the Year Defensively: Max Renillo

Most Improved Offensively: Patrick Wilhelm

Most Improved Defensively: Patrick Mulach


Most Valuable Player: Freshman state qualifier Nathan Griffin

Most Improved Player: Nick Siciliano

Coaches Cup: Chad Burton.


Most Valuable Player: Jeff Granger

Defensive Player of the Year: Andrew Brzezinski

Offensive Player of the Year: Mike Robertson

Most Improved Player: Richard Enty

Coach’s Cup: Ian McKenna


The Commodore: Mike Priore ‘12

Top Oar: Tom Brzozowski ‘12

Top Oar: Alex Jurcisin ‘12

Most Improved: Aidan Blake ‘14

Top Novice: Connor Leneghan ‘15


Golden Microphone Award: John Fanta ‘13

Dick Zunt ’50 SSID Award: Greg Ziton ‘13

Moderator Award: Zach Weinreich ’12

New Letters: Paddy White ’14, Trent Kennedy ’13, Zach Weinreich ’12 and Lucas Matheson ‘12

Broadcasting Participation Awards: Connor Martens ’13, Dylan Lynch ’13, John Selby ’15, Sean Reynolds ’13 and Pat McGuire ’14