skip navigation
Saint Ignatius Junior 8 crew

Wildcat Navy Competing at National Championships

By Connor Walters '09, 05/23/19, 10:15AM EDT


Three Saint Ignatius Crews will compete in Zanesville, Ohio

On Friday, May 24, and Saturday, May 25, three crews from Saint Ignatius High School will contend for a spot on the podium against the fastest scholastic crews throughout the United States. Led by Head Coach Pat Connor 94, the Wildcats will return to Zanesville, Ohio, the site of the Midwest Championships, in search of national medals.

Saint Ignatius will field crews in the Freshman 8, Lightweight 8 and Junior 8 events, the last of which has seen the boys from Ohio City bring home a medal each of the last two years.

The Freshman 8 event features eight freshman rowers and a coxswain in each of the 19 crews entered. Representing Saint Ignatius are coxswain Will Antonius, (stroke) Matthew Mason, Matthew Sullivan, Patrick Miklus, Johnny Gerace, Ben Sommer, Emmett Chambers, Owen Schaefer and (bow) Colin Schillinger. The Wildcats finished third at the Midwest Championship, behind New Trier and Montgomery Bell.

In the Lightweight 8, which has 11 entries this year, all rowers must weigh under 150 lbs. The lineup for the blue and gold includes: coxswain Cian Hoban 20, (stroke) Brendan Stutzman 19, Seth Schultz 20, Cole Mamone 21, Jack Lally 20, Colin McAndrew 20, Matthew Pischulla 21, Patrick Sullivan 20, and (bow) Caleb Hils 21. At Midwest, the Saint Ignatius Lightweights also earned a bronze behind New Trier and Montgomery Bell.

Each of the last two years, Saint Ignatius has earned a medal at nationals in the Junior 8—silver in 2017 and bronze in 2018. The Wildcats look to finally reach the top of the 17 boats contending in 2019. This event allows teams to compile a lineup of non-senior rowers to get a sense for their abilities heading into next year. Coxswain Duncan Fraser 20, (stroke) Matthew Skubas 21, Logan Burns 20, Eamon Coyne 20, Connor Snyder 20, Peter Turk 21, Nathan Taylor 21, David Bender 21, and Victor Yavornitzky 20 will race for Saint Ignatius.

Serving as alternates for this years crews are Aidan Green 22, Ian Barker 21, and David Lampman 20.

Results will be communicated throughout Friday and Saturday racing via the @SIHSrowing Twitter account. Lets Go Cats!